Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Eight Buckeyes All-Big Ten; Todd Coach of the Year

When you dominate the individual awards like you you deserve two posts.

Photo Courtesy the

Official Ohio State Athletics Release

Wimmers is co-Pitcher of the Year; Burkhart named Player of the Year

COLUMBUS, Ohio – The Big Ten Conference champion Ohio State Buckeyes dominated the 2009 all-conference awards, presented Tuesday at Huntington Park. Eight players were named first- or second-team all-Big Ten with Alex Wimmers selected as the co-Pitcher of the Year and Dan Burkhart named the Player of the Year.

In addition, head coach Bob Todd, who guided a team that was picked in the preseason publications to finish anywhere from third to fifth, was a unanimous choice as the league’s coach of the year. The honor represents the fifth time Todd has been named Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Wimmers, a contender for the National Pitcher of the Year Award with a 9-1 record and Big Ten leading ERA, opposing batting average and strikeouts, was a unanimous first-team choice and he joined Indiana’s Eric Arnett as the conference’s co-pitchers of the year.

Burkhart, who hits .362 with nine home runs and 57 RBI and who has thrown out 18 potential base stealers, shared first-team all-conference honors at catcher with Indiana’s Josh Phegley. He did receive the most votes by the league coaches, though, as the league’s Player of the Year.

Wimmers and Burkhart, both sophomores, were joined on the all-Big Ten first team by junior designated hitter Ryan Dew and senior closer Jake Hale. Dew ranks third in the Big Ten with a .395 average. Hale has Big Ten-leading figures in saves (15), appearances, and games finished. In Big Ten games only, his 1.09 ERA and .165 opponents’ batting average lead the conference.

Named to the all-Big Ten second team were senior captain and third baseman Justin Miller, who has hit .680 the last two weeks of the season and has raised his Big Ten average to .350; junior second baseman Cory Kovanda, who has hits in 19 of his last 21 games; junior center fielder Michael Stephens, who leads the Buckeyes with 12 home runs and 25 extra base hits, in addition to driving in 54 runs; and sophomore starting pitcher Dean Wolosiansky, who is 11-1 this season and is the first Buckeye 11-game winner in 10 years.

Kovanda was also named as the sportsmanship award winner from Ohio State.

Todd’s coach of the year honor is his first since the 2001 season, the last time Ohio State was Big Ten champion. He has also been honored as the league’s top coach in 1989, 1994 and 1999.

Wimmers is the fifth Buckeye pitcher to be named pitcher of the year. The five hurlers have won the award a total of six times. Burkhart is also the fifth Buckeye to win player of the year.


BaseballBucks33 said...

Way to go Buckeyes,very well deserving for sure. I am shocked Burkhart beat out McCallum from Minny. I also am shocked Coach Todd won coach of the year. Not saying they don't deserve these awards but i am pleasantly suprised.

Go Buckeyes!!

Anonymous said...

I am very surprised Rucinski did not at least make third team all conference. He had nine wins and not a single start. Granted some of that is luck but he obviously came through in some big situations as well. I also looked at the statistics for Ignas the pticher from PSU that received third team all conference honors and his stats do not even come close to Rucinski's. He had a higher ERA, way less innings, and only 19 strikeouts on the year compared to Rucinski's 58.
Congratulations to the Buckeyes that did receive the awards. I am very proud of them. Go Bucks!

formerlyanonymous said...

Congrats to Burkhart, Todd, and Wimmers... But BOOOO to those who voted Burkhart over McCallum. Please Please Please make a solid case for me so I can buy this. Other than being the best player on the best team, I can't understand McCallum not winning this.

formerlyanonymous said...

And since Sorenson going to be in Columbus for part of the weekend, I fully expect a home-and-home follow up to your last 9 innings.

Anonymous said...

Both guys played in all 50 games

McCallum .401 avg. Burkhart .362
McCallum 79 hits Burkhart 67 hits
McCallum 46 runs scored Burkhart 45 runs scored
McCallum 12 doubles and 3 triples Burkhart 13 doubles and 3 triples
McCallum 15 Home Runs Burkhart 9 Home Runs
McCallum 72 RBI(10 more than the next guy) Burkhart 57 RBI
MCCallum .721 slugging %, .472 OB % Burkhart .611 slugging %, .435 OB %

formerlyanonymous said...

Defense? Was Burkhart's D that big of a deal to bridge THAT gap?

(by the by, I'm not now formerly anonymous... I have no idea who that anonymous is. But he offers a great point.)

Chris Webb said...

No idea why Burkhart beat out McCallum, I'm just as surprised, and when I opend the press release seeing Burkhart was a surprise. A pleasant one.

Have to ask the coaches, they're the ones who vote on the awards.

To be fair, overall numbers aren't what is voted on, I know McCallum still has better numbers, just making that point known. Its relative to what is done during conference, or at least I'm told. Hence Gus being named 2nd-team when struggling for the majority of the season.

Anonymous said...

Some very interesting comments on "The Big Ten Hardball" blog. His insights are very insightful about this years selections. The bottom line is if you are not going to award the most deserving players, then why even give out the awards? It just takes any credibility away from the recognition for the players and reflects poorly on the conference.

powerdog18 said...


I agree with you about Ohio State’s Rucinski, it’s unbelievable he was left off the list. He is the only middle reliever that Ohio State used (31 appearances, 65.2 innings, 9-2, 2 saves). Rucinski pitched in 5 of Wimmers 14 starts, 10 of Wolosiansky 14 starts, and 24 times ahead of Hale. It’s certain that Rucinski was a major factor in the success that Ohio State had this season. Just proves that being a middle reliever is a thankless job.

BaseballBucks33 said...

I agree it is a joke that Drew Rucinski is not on the Big Ten award list. Drew has been awesome all year and is a true setup man. Way to go Drew!

Go Buckeyes beat the Illini!!